board of directors



David Smelsky, Director and Chair; Greg Sayer, Director; Karen Bertrand, Director; Isobel Boyle, Director, Barb Whylie, Director and Past-Chair; David Rich, Director, Rebecca Roy, Director; Sara Detweiler, Director and Secretary Treasurer; Monique Porlier, Director; Michelle Karker, Director; Lynda van Dreumel, Director and Vice-Chair

Board of Directors 2018-2019


  • David Smelsky, CPA, CMA, C.Dir, Director, Chair and President
  • Barbara Whylie, Director and Past-Chair 
  • Lynda van Dreumel, Director and Vice-Chair
  • Sara Detweiler, CPA, CA, Director, Secretary-Treasurer and Chair, Finance and Audit Committee
  • Leslie Mactaggart, Director, Member at Large and Chair, Governance
  • David Rich, Director and Member at Large


  • Isobel Boyle, Director
  • Michelle Karker, Director
  • Monique Porlier, Director
  • Rebecca Roy, Director
  • Greg Sayer, Director


An exciting AGM this year as our Vice-Chair Lynda van Dreumel, presented The Chartered Director (C. Dir.) designation to David Smelsky, CPA, CMA, C.Dir, Director, Chair and President, Hospice Wellington

The Chartered Director (C. Dir.) designation is awarded upon completion of intensive coursework, practical experience, and a comprehensive examination to ensure that participants gain expertise in both the “technical and structural” (rules-based) side of governance and the “cultural” (principle-based and behavioural) side. Having professionals with the C. Dir. designation on the Hospice Wellington Board of Directors elevates our organization's professional standards and highlights the dynamic relationship between corporate governance and corporate social responsibility


The Annual General Meeting of Members of Hospice Wellington

Reporting Year April 1, 2018 – March 31, 2019

Notice of Annual Meeting

Notice is hereby given that the Annual Meeting of Hospice Wellington will be held at
Hospice Wellington, 795 Scottsdale Drive, Guelph, Ontario on
Wednesday, June 26th 2019, 7:00 pm


Board Committees: